Canberra Conversation Lecture Series


Thu 23 March 2017IGPA CANBERRA CONVERSATION PUBLIC LECTURE SERIES / 12.30pm - 1.30pmFunction Room, Theo Notaras Multicultural Centre, 180 London Circuit, CANBERRA CITY

DATE: Thursday 23rd March 2017
TIME: 12.30pm - 1.30pm
VENUE: Function Room, Theo Notaras Multicultural Centre, 180 London Circuit, CANBERRA CITY

THIS EVENT IS FREE TO ATTEND. To register please click here.

ABOUT: Timely provision of infrastructure plays a crucial role in supporting economic growth, business development and services to the community. With finite resources, governments as well as the private sector need to prioritise such investments. This Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis (IGPA) Canberra Conversation Public Lecture will discuss the infrastructure priorities for the ACT from the perspective of the business community.

The event is jointly convened by Professorial Fellow Jon Stanhope AO and Adjunct Professor Dr Khalid Ahmed PSM. It will be in the form of a panel discussion with the Canberra Business Chamber, Master Builders Australia (ACT) and the Property Council of Australia (ACT), facilitated by David Trebeck.

David Trebeck is President of the ACT Council of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and an experienced company director, including of 6 ASX companies spanning more than 20 years. A Canberra resident since 1975, he co-formed the economic consultancy ACIL in 1983. From 2005 to 2008, he was a Commissioner on the National Water Commission.

David has conducted numerous consulting assignments for the ACT Government, including post-bushfire analysis, the Arboretum, Cotter Dam expansion, the Government office block project, ACT Taxation Review the Australia Forum and work on the proposed new Canberra Theatre. He undertook the first economic impact assessment of the newly privatised Canberra Airport. He is the chair of two start-up companies seeking to apply smart technology to communities and cities. 

Adina Cirson is the ACT Executive Director of Property Council of Australia, and has extensive experience in public policy and communications in Canberra for nearly 15 years.

Adina worked for Senator Kate Lundy for four years before her move to the ACT Government in 2006, working for Chief Minister Jon Stanhope on affordable housing, climate change and water security policy. She was senior communications consultant to ACTEW’s Water Security Major Projects, with a focus on community engagement and stakeholder management. Subsequently, Adina worked as Director of Communications with ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher, and Chief of Staff to the Minister for Planning, Land Management and Urban Renewal Mick Gentleman.

Kirk Coningham OAM is the Executive Director of the Master Builders ACT. His diverse experience includes working as a journalist, an Army officer and as a senior diplomat with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He has also worked with three Cabinet level Ministers in the Federal Parliament and held senior roles with the Australian Federal Police, Medicare Australia and the Australian Medical Association.

Kirk was awarded a Medal in the Order of Australia (OAM) for his work with families, government and the media during the 2002 Bali Bombs crisis. He speaks Indonesian and is the author of a best-selling book of fictional short stories. 

Robyn Hendry is the Chief Executive Officer of Canberra Business Chamber. She has worked in senior executive positions for over 20 years in Australia, New Zealand and PNG. Most recently, prior to joining the Canberra Business Chamber, she held the position of Chief Executive Officer for the Canberra Convention Bureau.

Robyn has also held senior management positions in multinational hotel companies in food and beverage, human resource management, general management and strategic development. At the 2011 Tourism Awards, Robyn was awarded Outstanding Contribution by an Individual for the ACT and Region. Robyn is currently a Director of the Cultural Faculties Corporation and Tennis ACT.



Back to Canberra Conversation Lecture Series