Canberra Conversation Lecture Series


Thu 4 May 2017Function Room, Theo Notaras Multicultural Centre, 180 London Circuit, CANBERRA CITY

DATE: Thursday 4th May 2017
TIME: 12.30pm - 1.30pm
VENUE: Function Room, Theo Notaras Multicultural Centre, 180 London Circuit, CANBERRA CITY

THIS EVENT IS FREE TO ATTEND. To register please click here.

Community engagement and participation in decision making has become a challenge for all democratic governments. Citizens’ juries, community panels and other forms of deliberative democracy are becoming increasingly popular across Australia. Are these forms of participatory engagement the answer to community discontent in the ACT?

This Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis (IGPA) Canberra Conversation Panel Discussion will consider the use of deliberative democracy processes from the perspectives of a government sponsor, a researcher and a practitioner. They will draw on their extensive experience to reflect on the benefits of these processes, what situations they are best suited to, and how they can go wrong. The panel will go on to discuss how deliberative democracy processes like citizens’ juries might be used in the ACT.

The event is jointly convened by Professorial Fellow Jon Stanhope AO and Adjunct Professor Dr Khalid Ahmed PSM in partnership with Deliberators without Borders, who provided funding support, and the International Association for Public Participation (IAP2) ACT Network. It will be in the form of a panel discussion facilitated by Kirsten Lawson and Jon Stanhope.

The Panel

Gail is the Director of Participation and Partnerships in the Department of Premier and Cabinet in South Australia. She is responsible for fostering an inclusive approach to policy-making, program development and service delivery across the South Australian government. This includes the strategic implementation of the SA Government’s engagement policy: Better Together and oversight of YourSay, a centralised online consultation hub for government and associated social media. 

Simon is an Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow at the Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance. His research covers the broad fields of deliberative democracy and environmental governance, particularly in respect to climate change. His focus is on the forces that shape public opinion and how this can be improved so that the expressed preference of the public better reflects their collective long-term interests.

Emily is the Co-CEO of Democracy Co, an Adelaide-based company specialising in participative and deliberative practice. democracyCo specialise in 3 key areas – supporting public servants with their adoption of these processes (including the politics that comes with this work); enabling stakeholders and partners to participate fully; as well as designing, facilitating and supporting citizens to contribute at their best. Emily has a wealth of experience working with governments, senior public servants and Ministers in Australia and overseas working in this field for over 20 years. democracyCo ran the high profile Nuclear Citizens Juries in SA in 2017 and have supported the SA government for many years in building muscle (capacity) in deliberative and collaborative practice. 

Kirsten leads Fairfax Media's coverage of ACT politics. A long-time political reporter, she returned to the ACT parliament in early 2014, having covered ACT politics in the late 1990s, during the days of Kate Carnell’s chief ministership, and federal politics in the Howard era.

John was a member of the ACT Legislative Assembly from 1998 to 2011. He was the Territory’s Chief Minister from 2001 to and 2011, and also held the portfolios of Attorney-General, Municipal Services and Treasury during his tenure. He was Administrator of the Australian Indian Ocean Territories from 2012 to 2014. Besides IGPA, Jon is currently engaged with Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service as an adviser.


Back to Canberra Conversation Lecture Series